Close my Business Account

Follow the steps to close an account for your business or organisation.

  • If you have a Relationship Manager, please get in touch with them before taking action to close an account.

    You may be able to use the online service to close your main Business Account and any additional accounts at the same time, as long as you’re a Full Access User and the only approver for changes to the account.

    Use the online service to close your main account and any of these additional accounts:

    • Business Accounts
    • Charity Accounts
    • Community Accounts
    • School Bank Accounts
    • Client Accounts used to hold client funds
    • Savings Accounts including Fixed Term Deposit Accounts, Instant Access Accounts and Notice Accounts
    • Accounts for borrowing money, including Loan, Credit and Charge Card Accounts.

    Check which accounts you’ll need to close separately

    Closing your main bank account will close any other business banking products linked to it. If there’s outstanding borrowing linked your account - like a Business Loan or Business Credit Card - we’ll get in touch to explain the next steps. This may mean it takes a little longer to close your account.

    How to close your main and additional accounts at the same time

    It's easy in the app

    1. Make sure you’re a Full Access User and the only approver for changes on the account. How to check your access and approval permissions
    2. Check your account balance is under £10,000 – you may need to move money to bring the balance down before you can close the account.
    3. Log in to the app​ and choose ‘Profile and settings’.
    4. Find ‘User access settings’ and select ‘Review or edit user access settings’.
    5. Go to ‘Services and requests’ and pick ‘Close all accounts’.
    6. Follow the on-screen guidance. It usually takes 5 to 7 working days to close an account.

    Not registered for the app?

    Not registered for the app?

    Get started

    Use Business Internet Banking

    What to know before you start:

    • you need to be a Full Access User and the only approver for changes to the account. How to check your access and approval permissions
    • check your account balance is between £0 and £10,000 – you may need to move money around before you can close the account.
    • you’ll need a mobile phone or card and reader to hand, and
    • it usually takes 5 to 7 working days for us to close an account.

    Or find out how to close the account if there’s more than one approver

    From June 2026, we're refreshing Business Internet Banking with new branding, and updated design and improved navigation. Over the next few weeks, you may see either the current layout or the new experience.

     

    If you see the new look, use these steps

    1. Select ‘Manage your business’.
    2. Go to ‘Services and requests’ and select ‘Close all accounts’.
    3. Follow the on-screen instructions.
     

    If you don’t see the new look, use these steps

    1. Select ‘Admin’.
    2. Go to ‘Services and requests’ and select ‘Close all accounts’.
    3. Follow the on-screen instructions.

    Use Business Internet Banking

     

    What to know before you start:

    • make sure you’re a Full Access User. How to check your access and approval permissions
    • check your account balance is between £0 and £10,000 – you may need to move money around before you can close the account.
    • you’ll need a mobile phone or card and reader to hand, and
    • it usually takes 5 to 7 working days for us to close an account.

    From June 2026, we're refreshing Business Internet Banking with new branding, and updated design and improved navigation. Over the next few weeks, you may see either the current layout or the new experience.

    If you see the new look, use these steps

    1. Select ‘Manage your business’.
    2. Go to ‘Services and requests’ and select ‘Close all accounts’.
    3. Follow the on-screen instructions.

    If you don't see the new look, use these steps

    1. Select ‘Admin’.
    2. Go to ‘Services and requests’ and select ‘Close all accounts’.
    3. Follow the on-screen instructions.

    It's easy in the app

    1. Make sure you’re a Full Access User and the only approver for changes on the account. How to check your access and approval permissions
    2. Check your account balance is under £10,000 – you may need to move money to bring the balance down before you can close the account.
    3. Log in to the app​ and choose ‘Profile and settings’.
    4. Find ‘User access settings’ and select ‘Review or edit user access settings’.
    5. Go to ‘Services and requests’ and pick ‘Close all accounts’.
    6. Follow the on-screen guidance. It usually takes 5 to 7 working days to close an account.
    More on the app

If you’re a Full Access User, you can close the following additional bank accounts online: 

  • Additional Business Accounts
  • Additional Charity Accounts
  • Additional Community Accounts
  • Additional School Bank Accounts
  • Additional Client Accounts
  • Instant Access Accounts.

How to close your additional accounts

It’s easy in the app

  1. Make sure you’re a Full Access User. How to check your access and approval permissions
  2. Check your account balance is between £0 and £10,000 – you may need to move money around before you can close the account.
  3. Log in to the app.
  4. Choose the additional account you’d like to close and select the 3 dots.
  5. Pick ‘Close this account’.
  6. Follow the steps to close your additional account. It usually takes 5 to 7 days for us to complete your request.

Not registered for the app?

Not registered for the app?

Get started

Use Business Internet Banking

What to know before you start:

  • make sure you’re a Full Access User. How to check your access and approval permissions
  • check your account balance is between £0 and £10,000 – you may need to move money around before you can close the account.
  • you’ll need a mobile phone or card and reader to hand, and
  • it usually takes 5 to 7 working days for us to close an account.

From June 2026, we're refreshing Business Internet Banking with new branding, and updated design and improved navigation. Over the next few weeks, you may see either the current layout or the new experience.

 

If you see the new look, use these steps

  1. Find the account you want to close and then select ‘More’.
  2. Choose ‘Manage this account’.
  3. Select 'Close this account’.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to close your additional account.
 

If you don’t see the new look, use these steps

  1. Find the account you want to close and then select ‘More actions’.
  2. Choose ‘Account services’.
  3. Select 'Close this account'.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions.

Use Business Internet Banking

 

What to know before you start:

  • make sure you’re a Full Access User. How to check your access and approval permissions
  • check your account balance is between £0 and £10,000 – you may need to move money around before you can close the account.
  • you’ll need a mobile phone or card and reader to hand, and
  • it usually takes 5 to 7 working days for us to close an account.

From June 2026, we're refreshing Business Internet Banking with new branding, and updated design and improved navigation. Over the next few weeks, you may see either the current layout or the new experience.

If you see the new look, use these steps

  1. Find the account you want to close and then select ‘More’.
  2. Choose ‘Manage this account’.
  3. Select 'Close this account’.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to close your additional account.

If you don't see the new look, use these steps

  1. Find the account you want to close and then select ‘More actions’.
  2. Choose ‘Account services’.
  3. Select 'Close this account'.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions.

It's easy in the app

  1. Make sure you’re a Full Access User. How to check your access and approval permissions
  2. Check your account balance is between £0 and £10,000 – you may need to move money around before you can close the account.
  3. Log in to the app.
  4. Choose the additional account you’d like to close and select the 3 dots.
  5. Pick ‘Close this account’.
  6. Follow the steps to close your additional account. It usually takes 5 to 7 days for us to complete your request.
More on the app

How to close accounts with more than one approver

Frequently asked questions

Was this helpful?